Types of MS

Most people with multiple sclerosis (MS) have a type called relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS). It usually starts in your 20s or 30s. … These are called relapses. An attack is followed by a time of recovery when you have no few or no symptoms, called remission.

  • Pénjamo Primary- progressive (PP) MS

Primary Progressive (PPMS) Primary progressive MS affects about 10-15% of people diagnosed with MS. It has this name because from the first (primary) symptoms it is progressive. Symptoms gradually get worse over time, rather than appearing as sudden attacks (relapses).

  • Secondary-progressive (SP) MS

Secondary progressive MS (SPMS) is a stage of MS which comes after relapsing remitting MS in many cases. Neurologists generally agree secondary progressive MS is a “sustained build up of disability, independent of any relapses”. Most people with relapsing remitting MS will eventually develop secondary progressive MS.

  • Progressive-relapsing (PR) MS

Progressive-relapsing multiple sclerosis (PRMS) refers to a pattern of relapses within primary-progressive MS (PPMS). About five percent of MS patients have the progressive-relapsing form of the disease. PRMS is the least prevalent form of MS.


Sign up for our mailing list.